Energiewirtschaftliches Institut an der Universität zu Köln gGmbH

Team

Jonas Zinke, M.Sc.

Jonas Zinke

is Research Associate at EWI since 2018 and doctoral candidate at the University of Cologne. His research focus lies in the field of modeling energy systems. Before joining EWI, Jonas Zinke studied Business Administration & Engineering: Electrical Power Engineering at RWTH Aachen and at Pohang University of Science and Technology (Pohang, South Korea).

 

 

Contact
+49 221 - 277 29-308
Curriculum Vitae

Studies

Client: ENGIE

2030 Peak Power Demand in North-West Europe

To study the power system’s response to cold spells in 2030, EWI and E-CUBE define three electricity demand scenarios based on TSO scenarios and national energy policy objectives for North-West Europe and then analyze the occurrence of supply-demand gaps under TYNDP 2020-like supply scenarios. Our results show that by 2030, the risk of supply-demand gaps at peak time under cold temperatures increases. These results are especially driven by the assumed increased role of heat pumps. There is significant uncertainty concerning the performance of heat pumps and the composition of the future fleet. We identify the potential demand-supply gap as an important coordination challenge for the European energy transition. The study was commissioned by ENGIE.

Client: E.ON SE

Effects of CO2 prices on the building, transport and energy sectors

In a new short study, the EWI examined the real impact of CO2 prices on private households and the overall energy system. The analysis was carried out jointly with the Institute for Future Energy Consumer Needs and Behavior (FCN) of RWTH Aachen University on behalf of E.ON SE. The FCN estimated investment and consumption decisions of private households in the transport and building sector on the basis of empirical models. On this basis, the EWI derived feedback effects of these decisions in the energy system. Thus, the effects of a CO2 price were consistently mapped in the overall system.

Energiewirtschaftliches Institut an der Universität zu Köln gGmbH

Team

Jonas Zinke, M.Sc.

Jonas Zinke

ist seit 2018 Research Associate am EWI und Doktorand an der Universität zu Köln. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der Modellierung von Energiesystemen. Vor seiner Zeit am EWI studierte Jonas Zinke Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen – Elektrische Energietechnik an der RWTH Aachen und an der Pohang University of Science and Technology (Pohang, Südkorea).

 

 

Kontakt
+49 221 - 277 29-308
Lebenslauf

Studien

Auftraggeber: ENGIE

2030 Peak Power Demand in North-West Europe

Um die Reaktion des Stromsystems auf Kälteperioden im Jahr 2030 zu untersuchen, definieren EWI und E-CUBE drei Stromnachfrageszenarien auf der Grundlage von TSO-Szenarien und nationalen energiepolitischen Zielen für Nordwesteuropa und analysieren dann das Auftreten von Versorgungslücken unter TYNDP 2020-ähnlichen Versorgungsszenarien. Unsere Ergebnisse zeigen, dass bis 2030 das Risiko von Versorgungslücken zu Spitzenzeiten bei kalten Temperaturen zunimmt. Diese Ergebnisse werden insbesondere durch die angenommene verstärkte Rolle von Wärmepumpen getrieben. Es besteht eine beträchtliche Unsicherheit bezüglich der Leistung von Wärmepumpen und der Zusammensetzung der zukünftigen Flotte. Wir identifizieren die potenzielle Versorgungslücke als eine wichtige Koordinationsherausforderung für die europäische Energiewende. Die Studie wurde im Auftrag von ENGIE durchgeführt.

Auftraggeber: E.ON SE

Auswirkungen von CO2-Preisen auf den Gebäude-, Verkehrs- und Energiesektor

Das EWI hat in einer neuen Kurzstudie die reale Wirkung von CO2-Preisen auf private Haushalte sowie das Gesamtenergiesystem untersucht. Die Analyse fand gemeinsam mit dem Institute for Future Energy Consumer Needs and Behavior (FCN) der RWTH Aachen im Auftrag der E.ON SE statt. Das FCN hat im Rahmen der Studie Investitions- und Verbrauchsentscheidungen privater Haushalte im Verkehrs- und Gebäudesektor auf Basis von empirischen Modellen geschätzt. Darauf aufbauend wurden vom EWI Rückwirkungen dieser Entscheidungen im Energiesystem abgeleitet. Somit wurden die Auswirkungen eines CO2-Preises im Gesamtsystem konsistent abgebildet.

Working Paper

On the time-dependency of MAC curves and its implications for the EU ETS

Martin Hintermayer, Lukas Schmidt, Jonas Zinke
November 2020
[PDF-Download]

One price fits all? Wind power expansion under uniform and nodal pricing in Germany

Lukas Schmidt, Jonas Zinke
November 2020
[PDF-Download]

Beratungsprojekte

Energie-Markt-Design der Zukunft
Gestaltungsoptionen für eine Steuersystematik zur Umsetzung der integrierten Energiewende
Der Einfluss einer Gebotszonentrennung im deutschen Stromversorgungssystem

Forschungsprojekte