Energiewirtschaftliches Institut an der Universität zu Köln gGmbH

Team

Konstantin Gruber, M.Sc.

Konstantin Gruber

is Research Analyst at EWI since 2020. His research focus lies in fields of demand side flexibility and energy system modelling. Before joining EWI, Konstantin Gruber studied Economics with a focus in Energy Markets and Labour Economics.

Contact
+49 221 - 277 29-312
Curriculum Vitae

Studies

Client: Siemens AG und der Allgäuer Überlandwerk GmbH

Economic evaluation of the benefits of local coordination mechanisms in electricity systems

This study analyses local coordination mechanisms from an economic perspective. For this purpose, the advantages and disadvantages of local coordination are presented. The benefits of local coordination are discussed for two selected aspects based on existing literature – these include supplying demand for locally generated energy in connection with additional willingness to pay for locally generated electricity and avoiding the expansion of the distribution grid through usage of flexibility. Furthermore, selected regulatory aspects that represent an obstacle to implementation are highlighted.

Misc Publications

Max Gierkink, Michael Wiedmann, Konstantin Gruber, Martin Hintermayer; 2021
Effects of a tightening of European climate targets on the German electricity market
The background to this analysis is that the EU is tightening its climate target for the year 2030: instead of the previously planned reduction of 40 percent, a minus of 55 percent is to be achieved for the year 2030 compared to the year 1990. The analysis "Impact of a Tightening of European Climate Targets on the German Electricity Market" shows the effects of the tightening of climate targets on the power plant fleet, electricity generation, wholesale electricity prices and the sectoral climate target of the energy industry in Germany in 2030.
Dr. Simon Schulte, Fabian Arnold, Konstantin Gruber; 2021
The price of electricity in times of Covid-19
In 2020, the average wholesale electricity price was significantly lower than in 2019. Three factors dampened prices: lower fuel costs, lower electricity demand and more electricity from renewable sources. In the analysis "The Electricity Price in Times of Covid-19", Dr. Simon Schulte, Fabian Arnold and Konstantin Gruber examine how the wholesale electricity price developed in 2020, what factors influenced its development, and what role the Covid-19 pandemic has played.

Energiewirtschaftliches Institut an der Universität zu Köln gGmbH

Team

Konstantin Gruber, M.Sc.

Konstantin Gruber

ist seit 2020 Research Analyst am EWI. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Nachfrageflexibilität und der Modellierung von Energiesystemen. Vor seiner Zeit am EWI studierte Konstantin Gruber Economics mit den Schwerpunkten Energiemärkte und Arbeitsmarkt Ökonomie.

Kontakt
+49 221 - 277 29-312
Lebenslauf

Studien

Auftraggeber: Siemens AG und der Allgäuer Überlandwerk GmbH

Ökonomische Bewertung des Nutzens lokaler Koordinationsmechanismen in der Stromversorgung

Die vorliegende Studie analysiert lokale Koordinationsmechanismen aus ökonomischer Perspektive. Dazu werden Vor- und Nachteile von lokaler Koordination dargestellt und eingeordnet. Es erfolgt eine Abschätzung des Nutzens lokaler Koordination für zwei, ausgewählte Aspekte auf Basis existierender Literatur – dazu zählen die Deckung von Nachfrage nach lokal erzeugter Energie im Zusammenhang mit zusätzlichen Zahlungsbereitschaften für lokal erzeugten Strom sowie die Vermeidung von Verteilnetzausbau durch dezentrale Flexibilität. Weiterhin werden ausgewählte regulatorische Aspekte beleuchtet, die ein Hindernis für die Umsetzung darstellen.

Sonstige Publikationen

Max Gierkink, Michael Wiedmann, Konstantin Gruber, Martin Hintermayer; 2021
Auswirkungen einer Verschärfung der europäischen Klimaziele auf den deutschen Strommarkt
Hintergrund dieser Analyse ist, dass die EU ihr Klimaziel für das Jahr 2030 verschärft: Statt der bisher geplanten Reduktion von 40 Prozent soll ein Minus von 55 Prozent für das Jahr 2030 gegenüber dem Jahr 1990 erreicht werden. Die Analyse „Auswirkungen einer Verschärfung der europäischen Klimaziele auf den deutschen Strommarkt“ zeigt die Auswirkungen der Klimazielverschärfung auf den Kraftwerkspark, die Stromerzeugung, die Großhandelsstrompreise und das sektorale Klimaziel der Energiewirtschaft in Deutschland im Jahr 2030.
Dr. Simon Schulte, Fabian Arnold, Konstantin Gruber; 2021
Der Strompreis in Zeiten von Covid-19
Im Jahr 2020 war der mittlere Großhandelsstrompreis deutlich niedriger als im Jahr 2019. Gleich drei Faktoren haben preisdämpfend gewirkt: niedrigere Brennstoffkosten, geringere Stromnachfrage und mehr Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien. In der Kurzanalyse „Der Strompreis in Zeiten von Covid-19“ untersuchen Dr. Simon Schulte, Fabian Arnold und Konstantin Gruber, wie sich der Großhandelsstrompreis im Jahr 2020 entwickelt hat, welche Faktoren seine Entwicklung beeinflusst haben und welche Rolle die Covid-19-Pandemie dabei gespielt hat.