Energiewirtschaftliches Institut an der Universität zu Köln gGmbH

Team

Dr. Simon Schulte

Dr. Simon Schulte

has been working at the Institute of Energy Economics (EWI) at the University of Cologne since 2015, first as a Research Associate and since 2019 as Manager and Head of Gas Markets. His responsibilities include the acquisition, operation and execution of projects for industrial clients as well as the public sector. In applied research and consulting projects he has examined the European and global gas markets as well as topics like hydrogen and sector coupling. In consulting projects for clients from the industry and public sectors, he has analyzed, e.g., options for gas supply diversification for the European Union and Germany or the contribution of gas storages to the security of gas supply. He has advised, among others, the German Federal Foreign Office, the German Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) and the European Commission. During his time at EWI, he completed an exchange as a consultant at the International Energy Agency (IEA), where he worked two years in a row for several months in the “Energy Market and Security” Directorate in the Division “Gas, Coal and Power Markets”. His research focus lies on the modelling of gas markets and the security of gas supply. Before joining EWI, Simon Schulte studied Industrial Engineering with a major in chemical/energy engineering at the Münster University of Applied Sciences (Germany), the University of California (Los Angeles, USA), the Norwegian School of Economics (NHH Bergen, Norway) and the TU Dresden (Germany).

Contact
+49 221 - 277 29-229
Curriculum Vitae

Studies

Client: Nord Stream 2 AG

Impact of infrastructure investments such as the Nord Stream 2 pipeline on the European gas market

As part of a study (Chapter 4.3), EWI quantifies the economic effects of the Nord Stream 2 pipeline using the European gas infrastructure model TIGER. The results of the simulation show that Nord Stream 2 will increase the supply of gas to Europe and thus reduce prices for European consumers. At the same time, it is shown that gas transits through Ukraine will continue to play an important role in the future and contribute to supplying Europe with gas at the lowest possible cost. The study was conducted in cooperation with Frontier Economics and commissioned by Nord Stream 2 AG.

Client: Wirtschaftsvereinigung Metalle e.V.

Coal phase-out: EWI develops methods for determining possible compensation payments for electricity intensive industries

How does the accelerated coal phase-out affect the wholesale electricity price – and how can this effect be estimated in the course of a compensation mechanism? In a new report commissioned by the WirtschaftsVereinigung Metalle e.V., scientists from EWI have developed and described three concrete methods for this purpose. In addition, they have analysed what effects the coal phase-out decided by the cabinet will have on the other electricity cost components of industrial companies.

The background to this is that both the final report of the so called coal commission and the Kohleausstiegsgesetz passed by the German Cabinet call for a compensation mechanism. This instrument is intended to compensate for possible electricity price increases that the coal phase-out may bring to the electricity intensive industry. The extent to which these compensatory measures are necessary to ensure the continued international competitiveness of German industry is not part of the report.

Client: Zukunft Erdgas e.V.

Discussion of future challenges of supply security in the electricity market 2.0

It is questionable whether the current design of the electricity market will be able to guarantee the current level of supply security in the future. This is because the decline in conventional generation and the simultaneous expansion of supply-dependent renewable energies pose challenges for the market. This is the result of a new study commissioned by Zukunft Erdgas e.V. and carried out by the Institute of Energy Economics at the University of Cologne (EWI).

Client: Own publication

The Trilateral Gas Talks: What would an interruption of Russian gas exports via Ukraine mean for EU consumers?

Gas supplies are secured for this winter – even if the current negotiations between the EU Commission, the Russian company Gazprom and the Ukrainian company Naftogaz over gas supplies from Russia via Ukraine to Europe should fail. Ten years after the Russian-Ukrainian gas conflict, the current gas supply contract expires at the end of the year. In a study entitled “The Trilateral Gas Talks: What would an interruption of Russian gas exports via Ukraine mean for EU consumers?”, EWI examined how a failure of the negotiations and a resulting interruption of gas supplies, as in 2009, would affect consumers in Europe.

Client: International Energy Agency (IEA)

IEA Market Report Series: Coal 2018

Supported by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia

Final report of Virtuelles Institut Strom zu Gas und Wärme

The „Virtual Institute Power to Gas and Heat“ (Virtuelles Institut Strom zu Gas und Wärme – VI SGW) is a consortium of seven scientific and technical institutes funded by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia and by the Cluster EnergieForschung of EnergieAgentur.NRW, which together conduct research on flexibility options for the future power-gas-heating integrated system. Alongside in-depth research on innovative technology pathways and energy system transformations, the work presented also includes the construction of a demonstration facility at the “Gas und Wärme” Institute in Essen.
The Virtual Institute submitted the results of its work in five volumes. The Management Summary provides an overview of the results of the research that was carried out in the VI SGW project between 2015 to 2017. Since the results of the cooperation are extensive, the Management Summary is designed to aid the reader in understanding the structure of the analysis and allowing topics of interest to be quickly located within the five volumes. The five volumes of the final report are “Volume I: System and Location Analyses”; “Volume II: Analyses of Technology Pathways”; “Volume III: Accompanying Experimental Research”; “Volume IV: Appendix to Volumes I-III”; “Volume V: Technology Datasheets”.
ewi ER&S is a partner and co-coordinator of the Virtual Institute SGW project, coordinating and contributing to “Volume I: System and Location Analyses” as well as contributing to “Volume II: Analyses of Technology Pathways” and “Volume V: Technology Datasheets”.
The Management Summary and all volumes of the final report can be found on the project’s website via the external link below.

Client: International Energy Agency (IEA)

IEA Coal 2017 Market and Analysis Report

Client: ewi ER&S

Future European Gas Transmission Bottlenecks in Differing Supply and Demand Scenarios

As previous studies by ewi ER&S and the Oxford Institute for Energy Studies (OIES) showed, there are bottlenecks in the European gas transmission grid. Especially between Germany and Italy, Germany and Austria as well as between the two French market areas, bottlenecks exist. This study focuses on the question if those bottlenecks persist in future. Therefore, two scenarios of OIES with high and low Asian gas demand which influences the European LNG supply are simulated in the European gas infrastructure model TIGER. Infrastructure extensions that are needed to realize the assumptions concerning demand and supply are modelled. The results indicate that especially in the scenario with high Asian demand (low LNG imports to Europe) bottlenecks persist in the European gas infrastructure in 2030.

Funding by German Federal Foreign Office

Options for Gas Supply Diversification for the EU and Germany in the next Two Decades

In cooperation with the European Centre for Energy and Resource Security (EUCERS) ewi ER&S investigates prospects and options for the European gas supply in the next two decades given a variety of scenarios.

Client: Stiftung Mercator

Turkey as an Energy Hub

Client: EWI

EWI Security of Supply Update: Simulation of current gas market developments in Europe with a special focus on Germany

Simulation of current gas market developments in Europe with a special focus on Germany.

Working Paper

Estimating Long-Term Global Supply Costs for Low-Carbon Hydrogen

Max Schönfisch, Gregor Brändle, Dr. Simon Schulte
November 2020
[PDF-Download]

Natural Gas Transits and Market Power – The Case of Turkey

Simon Schulte, Florian Weiser
July 2017
[PDF-Download]

Turkey’s Role in Natural Gas – Becoming a Transit Country?

Istemi Berk, Simon Schulte
January 2017
[PDF-Download]

Articles

Beschleunigter Ausstieg aus der Kohleverstromung – Auswirkungen auf Stromkosten der Industrie und Momentanreserve

Fabian Arnold, Eglantine Künle, David Schlund, Simon Schulte, Philipp Theile, Christian Wagner; 2020
In: VIK Nachrichten 2/2020, 42-45.
[PDF-Download]

Nord Stream 2 und das ukrainische Gastransportsystem: Beide sind wichtig für eine kosteneffiziente Erdgasversorgung

Simon Schulte, David Schlund, Max Schönfisch; 2020
In: et - Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Ausgabe 5/2020.

Kohle vs. Gas – Veränderungen der Merit-Order 2018 und 2019

Simon Schulte, Fabian Arnold, David Schlund; 2020
In: et - Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 70 (3), 2020, pp. 62-63.

Die trilateralen Gasgespräche

Simon Schulte, Eren Çam, Max Schönfisch; 2019
In: et - Energiwirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 69 (12), 2019, pp. 65-66.

Die Bedeutung des Rheins im deutschen Energiesystem

Max Schönfisch, Simon Schulte; 2019
In: et - Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 69 (4), 2019, pp. 45-46.

Natural Gas Transits and Market Power: The Case of Turkey

Simon Schulte, Florian Weiser; 2019
In: The Energy Journal, Vol. 40 (2), pp. 77-100.
[Link]

LNG import quotas in Lithuania – Economic effects of breaking Gazprom’s natural gas monopoly

Simon Schulte, Florian Weiser; 2019
In: Energy Ecomomics, Vol. 78, pp. 174-181.
[Link]

Die Zukunft der russischen Erdgastransite durch die Ukraine

Simon Schulte; 2018
In: et - Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 68 (4), pp. 59-60.

Perspektiven des Erdgastransits durch die Ukraine

Simon Schulte; 2018
In: Ukraine Analysen, pp. 15-17.
[Link]

Aktuelle Entwicklungen auf den Kohle- und Gasmärkten und ihre Rückwirkungen auf die Merit Order

Harald Hecking, Eren Çam, Max Schönfisch, Simon Schulte; 2017
In: et - Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 67 (6), pp. 34-38.
[Link]

Nord Stream 2: Gazproms Antwort auf einen strategischen Nachteil?

Harald Hecking, Simon Schulte; 2017
In: et - Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 67 (5), pp. 31-34.
[Link]

An Economic Assessment of Turkey’s Future Role in European Oil and Gas Supply Security

Istemi Berk, Eren Çam, Simon Schulte; 2017
In: Turkey as an Energy Hub? Contributions on Turkey's Role in EU Energy Supply, pp. 143-186.
[Link]

Dissertation

Essays on supply diversification of the European natural gas market

Simon Schulte; 2019
[Link]

Policy Briefs

Dr. Simon Schulte, Dominic Lencz, David Schlund; 2020
The Regulatory Framework for Hydrogen Networks – An Economic and Legal Classification in the Context of the Pursued Market Ramp-up
In a joint, interdisciplinary policy brief, a team from EWI and EWIR discusses economic and legal aspects of a possible regulation of hydrogen networks in the light of the planned market ramp-up. This analysis shows that there is no clear answer to the question whether hydrogen networks should be regulated. Instead, regulation of the networks could on the one hand prevent future abuse of market power. On the other hand, it could also inhibit the development of a hydrogen network through additional regulatory costs and inefficiencies. Depending on how politics decides, a legal embedding can be achieved either by an amendment of the EnWG, a hydrogen infrastructure law or possibly even a new energy code.
Dr. Simon Schulte, David Schlund; 2020
Background National Hydrogen Strategy
Hydrogen will have an essential role in the German energy transition. The Federal Government underlines this in its National Hydrogen Strategy. The EWI Policy Brief shows what should be taken into account within the hydrogen strategy. First of all, it is stated that a sluggish expansion of renewable energies and the "chicken-and-egg problem" are hindering the development of a purely green hydrogen economy. Technological neutrality, which does not exclude blue or turquoise hydrogen, is therefore of central importance for a rapid market ramp-up and a high market penetration of hydrogen. Furthermore, even in 2050 more than half of Germany's final energy demand will still have to be covered by imports, especially CO2-neutral synthetic gases and fuels. For this reason, technology neutrality should also be emphasized in the long term to ensure that the decarbonization targets are achieved in an economically efficient manner.

Misc Publications

Gregor Brändle, Max Schönfisch, Dr. Simon Schulte; 2020
Estimating Long-Term Global Supply Costs for Low-Carbon Hydrogen
In the research paper "Estimating Long-Term Global Supply Costs for Low-Carbon Hydrogen", EWI researchers have calculated the long-term supply costs of low-carbon hydrogen for 90 countries. The EWI Policy Brief "Hydrogen: Supply Options for Germany" deals with conclusions that can be drawn for Germany.
Fabian Arnold, Eren Çam, Dominic Lencz, Simon Schulte, Artem Stopnevich et al; 2020
Data Documentation Erdgas-BRidGE – Input data for modeling the power, building, and gas sector
.
Simon Schulte, David Schlund; 2020
EWI Policy Brief: Background National Hydrogen Strategy
Hydrogen will have an essential role in the German energy transition. The Federal Government underlines this in its National Hydrogen Strategy. The EWI Policy Brief shows what should be taken into account within the hydrogen strategy. First of all, it is stated that a sluggish expansion of renewable energies and the "chicken-and-egg problem" are hindering the development of a purely green hydrogen economy. Technological neutrality, which does not exclude blue or turquoise hydrogen, is therefore of central importance for a rapid market ramp-up and a high market penetration of hydrogen. Furthermore, even in 2050 more than half of Germany's final energy demand will still have to be covered by imports, especially CO2-neutral synthetic gases and fuels. For this reason, technology neutrality should also be emphasized in the long term to ensure that the decarbonization targets are achieved in an economically efficient manner.
Simon Schulte, Fabian Arnold, David Schlund; 2020
EWI Merit-Order Tool 2020
The EWI Merit-Order Tool enables the determination and graphical representation of an average merit order of the German conventional power plant fleet in 2019. To represent the merit order of the conventional power plants, standard assumptions for the other parameters (fuel price, emission allowance price, transport costs, other variable costs, non-availabilities and emission factors) are defined. Users can vary the underlying assumptions to analyse and visualise the effect of changing fuel prices, power plant shutdowns/constructions or other assumptions on the merit order.
Dr. Simon Schulte, Fabian Arnold, David Schlund; 2019
EWI Merit-Order Tool 2019
The EWI Merit-Order Tool enables the determination and graphical representation of an average merit order of the German conventional power plant fleet in 2018. To represent the merit order of the conventional power plants, standard assumptions for the other parameters (fuel price, emission allowance price, transport costs, other variable costs, non-availabilities and emission factors) are defined. Users can vary the underlying assumptions to analyse and visualise the effect of changing fuel prices, power plant shutdowns/constructions or other assumptions on the merit order.

Consulting Projects

Modellentwicklung und Berechnung von Szenarien eines Wasserstoff-Versorgungssystems für das Get H2-Nukleus Projekt
Discussion of challenges regarding security of supply in the context of the German “Electricity Market 2.0”
The development of hub price differentials in North Western Europe
Financial screening of projects in the framework of the Central and South-Eastern European Gas Connectivity (CESEC) Initiative
Fundamentale Modellierung des globalen Erdgasmarktes
Future gas demand and gas flows of North-Western Europe
Versorgungssicherheit Erdgas 2023 – der Beitrag von Erdgasspeichern
Die Auswirkung von Nord Stream II und “more capacity” auf die europäischen Gasflüsse – modellbasierte Analyse mit dem TIGER-Modell
Ukraine Gas Prices

Research Projects

Energieknotenpunkt Türkei – Ökonomische Trends und politische Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten
Abschlussbericht des Virtuellen Instituts NRW Strom zu Gas und Wärme

Energiewirtschaftliches Institut an der Universität zu Köln gGmbH

Team

Dr. Simon Schulte

Dr. Simon Schulte

ist seit 2015 am Energiewirtschaftlichen Institut (EWI) an der Universität zu Köln, zunächst als Research Associate und Doktorand, und seit 2019 als Manager und Leiter der Bereichs Gasmärkte. Sein Aufgabenbereich umfasst die Akquise, Leitung und Durchführung von Projekten für Auftraggeber aus der Industrie und dem öffentlichen Sektor. In Anwendungsforschungs- und Beratungsprojekten beschäftigt er sich insbesondere mit den europäischen und globalen Erdgasmärkten sowie den Themen Wasserstoff und Sektorenkopplung. Er untersuchte beispielsweise Optionen zur Diversifizierung von Erdgasbezugsquellen für die EU und Deutschland. Er beriet unter anderem das Auswärtige Amt, das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie und die EU-Kommission. Weiterhin entsandte ihn das EWI zweimal für mehrere Monate zur Internationalen Energie Agentur (IEA) nach Paris, wo er als Consultant in der Abteilung „Gas, Coal and Power Markets“ im Direktorat „Energy Markets and Security“ arbeitete. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Modellierung von Gasmärkten und Versorgungssicherheit von Erdgas. Vor seiner Zeit am EWI studierte Simon Schulte Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen mit Schwerpunkt chemische/energetische Verfahrenstechnik an der FH Münster, der University of California (Los Angeles, USA), der Norwegischen Handelshochschule (Bergen, Norwegen) und der TU Dresden. Zuvor absolvierte er eine Ausbildung zum Industriekaufmann.

Kontakt
+49 221 - 277 29-229
Lebenslauf

Studien

Auftraggeber: Nord Stream 2 AG

Auswirkungen von Infrastrukturinvestitionen wie der Nord-Stream-2-Pipeline auf den europäischen Gasmarkt

Als Teil (Kapitel 4.3) einer Kurzstudie werden die ökonomischen Effekte der Pipeline Nord Stream 2 mithilfe des europäischen Gasinfrastrukturmodells TIGER untersucht. Die Ergebnisse der Simulation zeigen, dass Nord Stream 2 das Gasangebot in Europa erhöht und somit die Preise für europäische Konsument*innen reduziert. Gleichzeitig wird gezeigt, dass Gastransite durch die Ukraine auch in Zukunft eine wichtige Rolle spielen und dazu beitragen, Europa möglichst kostengünstig mit Gas zu versorgen. Die Kurzstudie wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Frontier Economics und im Auftrag von Nord Stream 2 AG erstellt.

Auftraggeber: Wirtschaftsvereinigung Metalle e.V.

Analyse der Effekte des Kohleausstiegs auf den Großhandelsstrompreis und weiterer Stromkostenkomponenten von Industrieunternehmen sowie Entwicklung möglicher Ausgleichsmechanismen

Wie wirkt der beschleunigte Kohleausstieg auf den Großhandelsstrompreis – und wie kann man diesen Effekt im Zuge eines Ausgleichsmechanismus abschätzen? Drei konkrete Methoden dazu haben Wissenschaftler des EWI in einem neuen Gutachten im Auftrag der WirtschaftsVereinigung Metalle e.V. entwickelt und beschrieben. Außerdem haben sie analysiert, welche Effekte der vom Kabinett beschlossene Kohleausstieg auch auf die übrigen Stromkostenkomponenten von Industrieunternehmen hat.

Hintergrund ist, dass sowohl im Abschlussbericht der WSB-Kommission als auch im vom Kabinett beschlossenen Kohleausstiegsgesetz ein Ausgleichsmechanismus gefordert wird. Dieses Instrument soll einen Ausgleich für mögliche (Großhandels-)Strompreisanstiege schaffen, die möglicherweise durch den Kohleausstieg auf die stromintensive Industrie zukommen. Inwiefern diese Ausgleichsmaßnahmen notwendig sind, um weiterhin die internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der deutschen Industrie zu gewährleisten, ist nicht Bestandteil des Gutachtens.

Auftraggeber: Zukunft Erdgas e.V.

Diskussion zukünftiger Herausforderungen von Versorgungssicherheit im Strommarkt 2.0

Es ist fragwürdig, ob das aktuelle Strommarktdesign das heutige Niveau an Versorgungssicherheit künftig noch garantieren kann. Denn der Rückgang der konventionellen Erzeugung, bei gleichzeitigem Ausbau dargebotsabhängiger erneuerbarer Energien, stellt den Markt vor Herausforderungen. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommt das Energiewirtschaftliche Institut an der Universität zu Köln (EWI) in einer neuen Studie im Auftrag des Zukunft Erdgas e.V. Das EWI diskutiert darin, vor welche Herausforderungen das aktuelle Strommarktdesign zur Gewährleistung der langfristigen Versorgungssicherheit gestellt wird.

Auftraggeber: Eigene Veröffentlichung

The Trilateral Gas Talks: What would an interruption of Russian gas exports via Ukraine mean for EU consumers?

Die Versorgung mit Gas ist für diesen Winter gesichert – auch wenn die aktuellen Verhandlungen zwischen der EU-Kommission, dem russischen Unternehmen Gazprom und dem ukrainischen Unternehmen Naftogaz über die Gaslieferungen aus Russland über die Ukraine nach Europa scheitern sollten. Zehn Jahre nach dem russisch-ukrainischen Gaskonflikt läuft der derzeitige Vertrag über die Gaslieferungen zum Jahresende aus. Das EWI EWI hat in der Studie „The Trilateral Gas Talks: What would an interruption of Russian gas exports via Ukraine mean for EU consumers?“ untersucht, wie sich ein Scheitern der Verhandlungen und eine resultierende Unterbrechung der Gaslieferungen, wie im Jahr 2009, auf Verbraucher*innen in Europa auswirkt.

Auftraggeber: Internationale Energie-Agentur (IEA)

IEA Market Report Series: Coal 2018

Förderer: Land Nordrhein-Westfalen

Abschlussbericht des Virtuellen Instituts NRW Strom zu Gas und Wärme

Das „Virtuelle Institut Strom zu Gas und Wärme“ (VI SGW) ist ein vom Land Nordrhein-Westfalen geförderter und vom Cluster EnergieForschung der EnergieAgentur.NRW unterstützter Forschungsverbund von sieben Forschungsinstituten, die gemeinsam Flexibilitätsoptionen für das zukünftige Strom-Gas-Wärme-System erforschen. Neben innovativen Technologiepfaden und Systemforschung zählt die Errichtung eines Demonstrationszentrums am Standort des GWI in Essen zum Umfang der hier vorgestellten Arbeiten.

Das Virtuelle Institut hat die Ergebnisse seiner Arbeit in fünf Bänden vorgelegt. Die Management Summary gibt einen Überblick über die Forschungsergebnisse, die im Hauptprojekt des VISGW in den Jahren 2015-2017 erarbeitet wurden. Da die Ergebnisse der Zusammenarbeit sehr vielfältig sind, dient diese Zusammenfassung dem Leser als Hilfestellung, um schneller die entsprechenden Themen in den fünf Bänden wieder zu finden. Die fünf Bände des Abschlussbericht sind: Band I: System- und Standortanalysen; Band II: Pfadanalysen; Band III: Experimentelle Begleitforschung; Band IV: Anhänge zu den Bänden I-III; Band V: Steckbrief-Sammlung.

ewi ER&S ist Partner und Ko-Koordinator des Virtuellen Instituts, hat den Band I “System- und Standortanalysen” koordiniert und war maßgeblich an Band II “Pfadanalysen” und an den Technologie-Steckbriefen in Band V beteiligt.

Die Management Summary sowie alle Bände des Abschlussberichtes stehen unter dem externen Link zum Download bereit.

Auftraggeber: Internationale Energie-Agentur (IEA)

IEA Coal 2017 Market and Analysis Report

Auftraggeber: ewi ER&S

Future European Gas Transmission Bottlenecks in Differing Supply and Demand Scenarios

Wie vorherige Untersuchungen von ewi ER&S und des Oxford Institute for Energy Studies (OIES) gezeigt haben, gibt es Engpässe im europäischen Übertragungsnetz für Gas. Insbesondere zwischen Deutschland und Italien, Deutschland und Österreich sowie den beiden französischen Marktgebieten kommt es zu Engpässen. Diese Studie beschäftigt sich mit der Frage, ob diese Engpässe in Zukunft nach wie vor bestehen. Hierfür werden zwei Szenarien von OIES bezüglich hoher und niedriger asiatischer Gas-Nachfrage, welche das LNG-Angebot in Europa bestimmt, im europäischen Gasinfrastruktur-Modell TIGER simuliert. Die Realisierung von Infrastrukturmaßnahmen, welche für die Annahmen zu Nachfrage und Angebot notwendig sind, wird in der Modellierung unterstellt. Ein Resultat der Studie ist, dass das Szenario mit hoher asiatischer Nachfrage (niedrigen LNG-Importen in Europa) verstärkt zu Engpässen in den europäischen Pipelines in 2030 führt.

Förderer: Auswärtiges Amt

Options for Gas Supply Diversification for the EU and Germany in the next Two Decades

In Kooperation mit dem European Centre for Energy and Resource Security (EUCERS) untersucht ewi ER&S die Perspektiven der europäischen Gasversorgung der EU in den nächsten zwei Dekaden anhand verschiedener Szenarien.

Auftraggeber: Stiftung Mercator

Turkey as an Energy Hub

Auftraggeber: EWI

EWI Security of Supply Update: Simulation of current gas market developments in Europe with a special focus on Germany

Die Kurzstudie ist ein Update der Studie “An Embargo of Russian Gas and Security of Supply in Europe (2014)”. Unter Verwendung des TIGER-Modells werden Auswirkungen von unterschiedlichen Extremereignissen auf die europäische sowie die deutsche Versorgungssicherheit von Erdgas im März 2015 untersucht. Die untersuchten Ereignisse umfassen einen einmonatigen Transitstopp von russischem Erdgas durch die Ukraine, ein einmonatiges russisches Lieferembargo in die EU sowie eine Kältewelle, die mit den Wetterverhältnissen im März 2013 vergleichbar ist. Die Ergebnisse der Studie verdeutlichen, dass trotz niedriger Speicherfüllstände im Februar 2015 die deutsche Versorgungssicherheit von Erdgas gewährleistet ist. Lediglich wenn mehrere Extremereignisse wie ein einmonatiger russischer Lieferstopp und eine Kältewelle aufeinandertreffen ist mit geringen Versorgungsausfällen zu rechnen. Weiterhin zeigt die Studie, dass die Versorgungsausfälle in Osteuropa stärker ausfallen würden.

Working Paper

Natural Gas Transits and Market Power – The Case of Turkey

Simon Schulte, Florian Weiser
Juli 2017
[PDF-Download]

Turkey’s Role in Natural Gas – Becoming a Transit Country?

Istemi Berk, Simon Schulte
Januar 2017
[PDF-Download]

Zeitschriften

Nord Stream 2 und das ukrainische Gastransportsystem: Beide sind wichtig für eine kosteneffiziente Erdgasversorgung

Simon Schulte, David Schlund, Max Schönfisch; 2020
In: et - Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Ausgabe 5/2020.
[Link]

Beschleunigter Ausstieg aus der Kohleverstromung – Auswirkungen auf Stromkosten der Industrie und Momentanreserve

Fabian Arnold, Eglantine Künle, David Schlund, Simon Schulte, Philipp Theile, Christian Wagner; 2020
In: VIK Nachrichten 2/2020, 42-45.
[PDF-Download]

Kohle vs. Gas – Veränderungen der Merit-Order 2018 und 2019

Simon Schulte, Fabian Arnold, David Schlund; 2020
In: et - Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 70 (3), pp. 62-63.
[Link]

Die trilateralen Gasgespräche

Simon Schulte, Eren Çam, Max Schönfisch; 2019
In: et - Energiwirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 69 (12), pp. 65-66.

Die Bedeutung des Rheins im deutschen Energiesystem

Max Schönfisch, Simon Schulte; 2019
In: et - Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 69 (4), pp. 45-46.

Natural Gas Transits and Market Power: The Case of Turkey

Simon Schulte, Florian Weiser; 2019
In: The Energy Journal, Vol. 40 (2), pp. 77-100.
[Link]

LNG import quotas in Lithuania – Economic effects of breaking Gazprom’s natural gas monopoly

Simon Schulte, Florian Weiser; 2019
In: Energy Ecomomics, Vol. 78, pp. 174-181.
[Link]

Die Zukunft der russischen Erdgastransite durch die Ukraine

Simon Schulte; 2018
In: et - Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 68 (4), pp. 59-60.

Perspektiven des Erdgastransits durch die Ukraine

Simon Schulte; 2018
In: Ukraine Analysen, pp. 15-17.
[Link]

Aktuelle Entwicklungen auf den Kohle- und Gasmärkten und ihre Rückwirkungen auf die Merit Order

Harald Hecking, Eren Çam, Max Schönfisch, Simon Schulte; 2017
In: et - Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 67 (6), pp. 34-38.
[Link]

Nord Stream 2: Gazproms Antwort auf einen strategischen Nachteil?

Harald Hecking, Simon Schulte; 2017
In: et - Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 67 (5), pp. 31-34.
[Link]

An Economic Assessment of Turkey’s Future Role in European Oil and Gas Supply Security

Istemi Berk, Eren Çam, Simon Schulte; 2017
In: Turkey as an Energy Hub? Contributions on Turkey's Role in EU Energy Supply, pp. 143-186.
[Link]

Dissertation

Essays on supply diversification of the European natural gas market

Simon Schulte; 2019
[Link]

Sonstige Publikationen

Fabian Arnold, Eren Çam, Dominic Lencz, Simon Schulte, Artem Stopnevich et al.; 2020
Data Documentation Erdgas-BRidGE – Input data for modeling the power, building, and gas sector
.
Simon Schulte, David Schlund; 2020
EWI Policy Brief: Hintergrund Nationale Wasserstoffstrategie
Dem Energieträger Wasserstoff wird im Zuge der Energiewende eine besondere Rolle zugesprochen. Im Rahmen der Nationalen Wasserstoffstrategie unterstreicht die Bundesregierung dies. Der EWI Policy Brief zeigt auf, was im Rahmen der Wasserstoffstrategie berücksichtigt werden sollte. Zunächst wird festgestellt, dass ein stockender Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energien und das „Henne-Ei-Problem“ den Aufbau einer rein grünen Wasserstoffwirtschaft hemmen. Technologieoffenheit, die neben grünem auch blauen oder türkisen Wasserstoff nicht ausschließt, ist daher für einen zügigen Markthochlauf bzw. eine hohe Marktdurchdringung mit Wasserstoff von zentraler Bedeutung. Des Weiteren muss auch 2050 noch mehr als die Hälfte des deutschen Endenergiebedarfs durch Importe, insbesondere CO2-neutrale synthetische Gase und Kraftstoffe, gedeckt werden. Daher sollte auch langfristig auf Technologieneutralität gesetzt werden, um eine ökonomisch effiziente Erreichung der Dekarbonisierungsziele zu gewährleisten.
Simon Schulte, Fabian Arnold, David Schlund; 2020
EWI Merit-Order Tool 2020
Das EWI Merit-Order Tool ermöglicht die Bestimmung und grafische Repräsentation der mittleren Merit-Order des konventionellen Kraftwerksparks 2019. Jedem Kraftwerksblock wird eine Erzeugungstechnologie und mithilfe zusätzlicher Quellen ein elektrischer Wirkungsgrad zugeordnet. Um die durchschnittliche Merit-Order des konventionellen Kraftwerksparks 2019 abzubilden, werden Standardannahmen für die weiteren Parameter (Brennstoffpreis, Emissionszertifikatspreis, Transportkosten, sonstige variable Kosten, Nicht-Verfügbarkeiten und Emissionsfaktoren) festgelegt. Nutzer*innen können die der Merit-Order zugrundeliegenden Annahmen variieren, um den Effekt veränderter Brennstoffpreise, Kraftwerksstilllegungen/-zubauten oder anderer Annahmen auf die Merit-Order zu analysieren und visualisieren.
Simon Schulte, Fabian Arnold, David Schlund; 2019
EWI Merit-Order Tool 2019
Das EWI Merit-Order Tool ermöglicht die Bestimmung und grafische Repräsentation der mittleren Merit-Order des konventionellen Kraftwerksparks 2018. Jedem Kraftwerksblock wird eine Erzeugungstechnologie und mithilfe zusätzlicher Quellen ein elektrischer Wirkungsgrad zugeordnet. Um die durchschnittliche Merit-Order des konventionellen Kraftwerksparks 2018 abzubilden, werden Standardannahmen für die weiteren Parameter (Brennstoffpreis, Emissionszertifikatspreis, Transportkosten, sonstige variable Kosten, Nicht-Verfügbarkeiten und Emissionsfaktoren) festgelegt. Nutzer*innen können die der Merit-Order zugrundeliegenden Annahmen variieren, um den Effekt veränderter Brennstoffpreise, Kraftwerksstilllegungen/-zubauten oder anderer Annahmen auf die Merit-Order zu analysieren und visualisieren.

Beratungsprojekte

Diskussion zukünftiger Herausforderungen von Versorgungssicherheit im Strommarkt 2.0
The Development of Hub Price Differentials in North Western Europe
Financial Screening of Projects in the Framework of the Central and South-Eastern European Gas Connectivity (CESEC) Initiative
Fundamentale Modellierung des globalen Erdgasmarktes
Future Gas Demand and Gas Flows of North-Western Europe
Versorgungssicherheit Erdgas 2023 – der Beitrag von Erdgasspeichern
Die Auswirkung von Nord Stream II und “more capacity” auf die europäischen Gasflüsse – modellbasierte Analyse mit dem TIGER-Modell
Ukraine Gas Prices

Forschungsprojekte

Energieknotenpunkt Türkei – Ökonomische Trends und politische Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten
Abschlussbericht des Virtuellen Instituts NRW Strom zu Gas und Wärme