EWI - a "knowledge factory"

The Institute of Energy Economics at the University of Cologne (EWI) is a non-profit organization (gGmbH). It sees itself as a knowledge factory that aims at creating, disseminating and utilizing new knowledge about increasingly complex energy markets. The energy world is currently undergoing dramatic change, with changing political and social conditions as well as new technologies and innovations. These changes raise complex questions for which EWI is seeking answers: through practical and agenda-neutral energy economics research.

The latest economics methods

In order to create the greatest possible gain in knowledge for science, energy policy and energy industry practice, the institute applies the latest economic methods. In addition to theoretical economics analyses, a focus is on the use and further development of quantitative methods. These include detailed, computer-aided models of the European electricity and gas industry, but also global energy markets such as coal and oil. EWI produces energy-economic analyses with great practical relevance. EWI’s clients include public institutions such as the Federal Government, the State Government of North Rhine-Westphalia, European authorities as well as private companies such as large energy suppliers, municipal utilities and associations.

Research and consulting projects

Annette Becker and Prof. Dr. Marc Oliver Bettzüge lead a team of about 40 employees. EWI has an annual budget of around 2.5 million euros. About one third of this is institutional funding from the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, one third is financed through publicly funded research projects and one third through consultancy projects for various public and industrial clients. In total, around 10 percent of the budget is covered by project-related grants from EWI’s funding agency.

Research institution of the Cologne University Foundation

The Institute of Energy Economics is a research institution of the Cologne University Foundation, and thus a 100% subsidiary of the foundation. In addition to EWI, the foundation includes the (planned) Innovation and Start-up Centre of the University of Cologne, which will include a test centre for companies and their digital business models as well as an incubator for spin-offs. Both institutions, EWI and the Innovation and Start-up Centre, are transfer institutions that bring ideas from the University into economy and society.

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board of the Institute of Energy Economics consists of up to nine members, who are delegated in equal thirds by the Gesellschaft zur Förderung des Energiewirtschaftlichen Instituts an der Universität zu Köln e. V. (Society of Benefactors of the Institute of Energy Economics at the University of Cologne), the government of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the University of Cologne.

The members of the Supervisory Board are:

  • Heike Heim (Chairwoman of the Management Board of Dortmunder Energie- und Wasserversorgung GmbH), Chairwoman of the Supervisory Board
  • Michael Geßner (Head of the Department for Energy Business, Nuclear Technology and Mining in the Ministry of Economy, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia), Vice Chairman of the Supervisory Board
  • Dr. Dietrich Gottwald (Vice Chairman of the Executive Board of the Cologne University Foundation), Vice Chairman of the Supervisory Board
  • Volker Beckers (Chairman and non-Executive Director at various companies/institutions)
  • Dr. Kirsten Bender (Head of Department Innovation and Markets in the Ministry of Economy, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia)
  • Prof. Dr. Ludwig Kuntz (Vice Rector for Planning and Finance at the University of Cologne)
  • MinDirig Michael Theben (Head of the Department for Climate Policy in the Ministry of Economy, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia)
  • Dr. Ulrich Thonemann (Dean of the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences of the University of Cologne)
  • Dr. Frank Voßloh (General Manager at Viessmann Deutschland GmbH)

Scientific advisory board

The Supervisory Board of the Institute of Energy Economics has appointed following members of the Scientific Advisory Board as of June 16th, 2020 for an initial period of five years:

  • Dr. Dr. h. c. Christoph M. Schmidt (Professor of Economic Policy and Applied Econometrics at Ruhr University Bochum and President of RWI – Leibniz Institute for Economic Research Essen (Chairman))
  • Dr. Srinivasan Keshav (Robert Sansom Professor of Computer Science at the University of Cambridge (United Kingdom))
  • Dr. Charlotte Kreuter-Kirchhof (Professor of German and Foreign Public Law, International Law and European Law at the Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf and Director of the Düsseldorf Institute for Energy Law)
  • Dr. Andreas Löschel (Chair of Environmental/Resource Economics and Sustainability at the Ruhr University Bochum)
  • Dr. Shmuel Oren (Professor of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research at the University of California at Berkeley (USA))
  • Dr. Karen Pittel (Professor of Economics, in particular Energy, Climate and Exhaustible Natural Resources, at the Ludwig Maximilian University Munich and Director of the ifo Center for Energy, Climate and Resources)
  • Dr. Anke Weidlich (Professor for Control and Integration of Grids at the Albert Ludwig University Freiburg, Institute for Sustainable Technical Systems (INATECH))