EWI Academy

The EWI offers training on current energy topics for companies, politics, NGOs, associations, and ministries.

The EWI has in-depth know-how on current issues, challenges, and trends in the energy industry from its applied research and consulting activities and academic teaching. Within the EWI Academy framework, this knowledge is passed on to experts from the energy sector, industry, and politics in structured training, workshops, and seminars. The training target groups are specialists and executives from the energy industry and politics and other areas and industries, for which an understanding of energy industry interrelationships is becoming increasingly important, such as the and heating industries.

The seminars can be designed individually for you and your priorities, in-house or online, in English or German. The central part of the workshops, besides lectures, is the discussion of your questions with EWI experts. In addition to individually tailored programs, we offer the following seminars, which have already been successfully conducted numerous times:

Energy Management Compact

The workshop series offers an overview of current topics in the energy industry. To this end, the fundamentals of power supply and electricity markets and the most important trends are presented vividly. The workshops take a structured look at the entire value chain of power supply, from generation and trading to grid infrastructure and retailing. Also, participants will learn about regulatory issues in liberalized electricity markets and the most important current developments such as sector coupling, decentralization, and digitalization. Besides, key energy policy issues are discussed with the participants.

The target group for this series is, in particular, lateral entrants and newcomers to the energy industry who would like to gain a compact insight into the most important current topics and a fundamental understanding of the complex economic structures of electricity supply.

The seminar can be held as a block of two days or as a regular event with six dates of two hours each.

Crash course energy scenarios

Energy scenarios are an essential part of the political and scientific discourse surrounding the energy transition. Therefore, a solid understanding of these scenarios is vital for the classification and interpretation of corresponding studies and the subsequent transfer into business or political practice. The EWI has many years of experience in creating and modeling energy scenarios and has been significantly involved in numerous widely cited modeling studies.

Within this workshop series, methodological basics for the creation and modeling of energy scenarios will be taught. The focus will be on a critical examination of central implicit and explicit assumptions and a well-founded interpretation of results. Based on this, the participants will learn which political conclusions can be derived from scenario calculations.

The target group of this series is professionals from companies and NGOs who want to gain an in-depth understanding of the most essential methodological and content-related aspects of energy scenarios and their significance in business and political practice.

The seminar can be held as two half-day sessions or as a regular event with four sessions of two hours each.

Hydrogen economy - challenges and opportunities

Hydrogen as an energy carrier is considered one of the central building blocks for the future energy system. However, the ramp-up of a hydrogen economy is linked to a large number of complex economic issues. This workshop series gives a structured overview of these questions and provides practical answers directly from our research.

To this end, the supply chain of a future hydrogen economy will be presented, and the main opportunities and challenges of gray, blue, and green hydrogen will be analyzed. Based on this, critical questions regarding financing and regulation of the ramp-up are highlighted. Finally, a discussion of possible business models that can be established along the hydrogen economy’s value chain follows.

This series’s target audience is energy industry professionals and investors looking for an in-depth introduction to the hydrogen economy and understanding hydrogen applications and business models.

The seminar can be held as a one-day block or as a regular event with three dates of two hours each.

E-Mobility - Challenges and Opportunities

Electromobility is linking the previously separate sectors of the energy industry and transportation. Along with this new intersection, various challenges and opportunities arise in both the automotive and energy sectors.

This workshop series will provide a structured overview of the most critical issues related to electromobility. The two-hour sessions will explain e-mobility trends across Europe, the challenges and opportunities for the convergence of the energy and mobility sectors, focusing on the development of smart charging stations for electric vehicles. Our experts will also provide insights into business models such as virtual power plants, workplace charging management, and interoperability.

This series’s target audience is energy industry professionals and investors who need an in-depth look at the development of electric mobility and the implications for use cases and business models in the energy industry.

The seminar can be held as a one-day block or as a regular event with three dates of two hours each.

EWI Academy

Das EWI bietet Trainings zu aktuellen energiewirtschaftlichen Themen für Unternehmen, Politik, NGOs, Verbände sowie Ministerien an.

Aus der angewandten Forschungs- und Beratungstätigkeit sowie der akademischen Lehre verfügt das EWI über tiefgehendes Know-how zu den aktuellen Fragen, Herausforderungen und Trends in der Energiewirtschaft. Im Rahmen der EWI Academy wird dieses Wissen in strukturierten Trainings, Workshops und Seminaren an Fachleute aus der Energiewirtschaft, Industrie und Politik weitergegeben. Zielgruppe der Trainings sind sowohl Fach- und Führungskräfte aus Energiewirtschaft und Politik als auch aus anderen Bereichen und Branchen, für die ein Verständnis energiewirtschaftlicher Zusammenhänge immer wichtiger wird, wie zum Beispiel die Automobil- und Heizungsbranche.

Die Seminare können individuell für Sie und Ihre Schwerpunkte gestaltet werden, Inhouse oder online, in englischer oder deutscher Sprache. Zentraler Teil der Workshops ist neben Vorträgen die Diskussion Ihrer Fragen mit den Fachleuten des EWI. Neben individuell abgestimmten Programmen bieten wir die folgenden, bereits vielfach erfolgreich durchgeführten Seminare an:

Energiewirtschaft Kompakt

Die Workshopreihe bietet einen Überblick über aktuelle Themen der Energiewirtschaft. Dazu werden sowohl Grundlagen zu Stromversorgung und Strommärkten als auch die wichtigsten Trends anschaulich dargestellt. Die Workshops betrachten strukturiert die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette der Stromversorgung, von Erzeugung und Handel über Netzinfrastruktur bis zum Retailing. Die Teilnehmenden lernen zudem regulatorische Aspekte in liberalisierten Strommärkten und die wichtigsten aktuellen Entwicklungen wie Sektorenkopplung, Dezentralisierung und Digitalisierung. Zudem werden zentrale energiepolitische Fragen mit den Teilnehmenden diskutiert.

Zielgruppe dieser Reihe sind insbesondere Quer- und Neueinsteiger und -einsteigerinnen in die Energiewirtschaft, die einen kompakten Einblick in die wichtigsten aktuellen Themen und ein grundlegendes Verständnis der komplexen ökonomischen Strukturen der Stromversorgung erwerben möchten.

Das Seminar kann als Block von zwei Tagen oder als regelmäßige Veranstaltung mit 6 Terminen à 2 Stunden durchgeführt werden.

Crashkurs Energieszenarien

Energieszenarien sind ein wichtiger Teil des politischen und wissenschaftlichen Diskurses rund um die Energiewende. Ein solides Verständnis dieser Szenarien ist deshalb wichtig für die Einordung und Interpretation entsprechender Studien und die anschließende Übertragung in die unternehmerische oder politische Praxis. Das EWI hat langjährige Erfahrung in der Erstellung sowie Modellierung von Energieszenarien und war maßgeblich an zahlreichen viel zitierten Modellierungsstudien beteiligt.

Im Rahmen dieser Workshopreihe werden methodische Grundlagen für die Erstellung und Modellierung von Energieszenarien vermittelt. Dabei steht insbesondere die kritische Auseinandersetzung mit zentralen impliziten und expliziten Annahmen sowie die fundierte Interpretation von Ergebnissen im Fokus. Darauf aufbauend wird vermittelt, welche politischen Schlussfolgerungen aus Szenarienrechnungen abgeleitet werden können.

Zielgruppe dieser Reihe sind Fachleute aus Unternehmen und NGOs, die ein tiefgehendes Verständnis für die wichtigsten methodischen und inhaltlichen Aspekte zu Energieszenarien und deren Bedeutung in der unternehmerischen und politischen Praxis erwerben möchten.

Das Seminar kann als zwei halbtägige Veranstaltungen oder als Veranstaltung mit 4 Terminen à 2 Stunden durchgeführt werden.

Wasserstoffwirtschaft – Herausforderungen und Chancen

Der Energieträger Wasserstoff gilt als einer der zentralen Bausteine für das zukünftige Energiesystem. Der Hochlauf einer Wasserstoffwirtschaft ist allerdings mit einer Vielzahl von komplexen ökonomischen Fragen verknüpft. Diese Workshopreihe gibt einen strukturierten Überblick dieser Fragen und liefert praxisnahe Antworten direkt aus unserer Forschung.

Dazu wird die Versorgungskette einer zukünftigen Wasserstoffwirtschaft dargestellt und die wichtigsten Chancen und Herausforderungen von grauem, blauem und grünem Wasserstoff analysiert. Darauf aufbauend werden zentrale Fragen zur Finanzierung und Regulierung des Hochlaufs beleuchtet. Schließlich erfolgt eine Diskussion von möglichen Geschäftsmodellen, die entlang der Wertschöpfung einer Wasserstoffwirtschaft etabliert werden können.

Zielgruppe dieser Reihe sind Fachleute aus der Energiewirtschaft sowie Investorinnen und Investoren, die eine vertiefte Einführung in die Wasserstoffwirtschaft suchen und Anwendungen sowie Geschäftsmodelle von Wasserstoff verstehen möchten.

Das Seminar kann als eintägiger Block oder als Veranstaltung mit drei Terminen à 2 Stunden durchgeführt werden.

E-Mobilität – Herausforderungen und Chancen

Mit der Elektromobilität werden die bisher getrennten Sektoren Energiewirtschaft und Verkehr miteinander verknüpft. Entlang dieser neuen Schnittstelle ergeben sich verschiedene Herausforderungen und Chancen, sowohl aus der Perspektive der Automobilbranche als auch der Energiewirtschaft.

Diese Workshopreihe gibt einen strukturierten Überblick über die wichtigsten Fragen zur Elektromobilität. In den zweistündigen Sessions werden E-Mobilitätstrends in ganz Europa sowie die Herausforderungen und Chancen für die Konvergenz des Energie- und Mobilitätssektors mit einem Fokus auf die Entwicklung von intelligenten Ladestationen für Elektrofahrzeuge erklärt. Unsere Fachleute geben auch Einblicke in Geschäftsmodelle wie virtuelle Kraftwerke, Lademanagement am Arbeitsplatz und Interoperabilität.

Zielgruppe dieser Reihe sind Fachleute aus der Energiewirtschaft sowie Investorinnen und Investoren, die einen vertieften Einblick in die Entwicklung der Elektromobilität und die Implikationen für Anwendungsfälle und Geschäftsmodelle in der Energiewirtschaft benötigen.

Das Seminar kann als eintägiger Block oder als Veranstaltung mit drei Terminen à 2 Stunden durchgeführt werden.